The regular mid-month meeting of Ross Municipal Council was held on September 17, 1997 in the Council Chambers.

Present were Reeve Alvin Stone, Deputy-Reeve Jack Ferguson, and Councillors Don Rathwell, Victor McLaughlin and Bill Gibson.

Reeve Stone called the meeting to order at 7:35 p.m. and led in repeating The Lord's Prayer. The minutes of Sept. 3rd meeting were adopted as circulated.

Correspondence for Information:

- MMAH Report on Social Housing Reform MCSS Ontario Works and Child Care AMO Dialogue on Bill 136 Under Way
- Twp. of Westmeath Minutes of Restructuring Committee
- Doyle etc. Letter to Logos Land Creditors
- Townsite Water samples All 0 0 Cty of Renfrew Land Div. Application for Consent
- File No. B102/97 (Elwin & Hazel Dobson)
   MHSA Information session in Beachburg Sept. 30th one delegate to go
- RCBE & RCRCSB English-Language Trustee Distribution
- CNIB 1998 Lottery Calendar selling in our Municipality
- Replies to supported resolutions:
  - Premier of Ontario Delay transfers to Jan. 1999 MAFRA Draught in Renfrew County Village of Blyth Removal of Education Tax
- Cty.of Renfrew Benefits from new Planning System
  - 9-1-1 closer to reality
- Letter Jeffrey Lake Home and Cottage Owners Council recommended that no action be taken concerning this letter Letter of resignation and application for Library Board

Moved by Ferguson, seconded by Gibson that Council of the Township of Ross endorse a resolution from the Township of Radcliffe to support the Provincial Government's boycott of the Mandatory Federal Gun Registry.
And that this resolution be forwarded to Hon. Bob Runciman, Solicitor General and to Sean Conway, MPP and Hec Clouthier MP.

Moved by McLaughlin, seconded by Rathwell that Council of the Township of Ross support a resolution from the Township of Ashfield requesting that the Province of Ontario re-examine the proposed legislation as it applies to intensive livestock operations and the potential for increased environmental risks. And that this resolution be forwarded to Premier Michael Harris, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, and the Minister of Environment and Energy and Sean Conway, MPP.

Moved by Gibson, seconded by Ferguson that Council of the Township of Ross adopt the following resolution:

WHEREAS the County of Renfrew will be the delivery agent for consolidated General WHEREAS the County of Renfrew will be the delivery agent for consolidated General Welfare Assistance benefits under Ontario Works effective January 1, 1998; AND WHEREAS Brian Burbridge, Director of Health & Social Services has been appointed the General Welfare Administrator for the County of Renfrew; THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Township of Ross entrust the maintenance and control of their existing GWA client files to the Care of Brian Burbridge, General Welfare Administrator for the County of Renfrew.

Moved by Rathwell, seconded by McLaughlin that Council of the Township of Ross give three readings and pass By-Law #24-97 being a By-law imposing special annual drainage rates upon E.Pt.Lot 26, Concession 6 in respect of which money is borrowed (\$15,500) under the Tile Drainage Act. (Barry Gould)

Moved by Ferguson, seconded by Gibson that Council of the Township of Ross give three readings and pass By-Law #25-97 being a by-law to establish procedures governing the sale of real property.

Moved by McLaughlin, seconded by Rathwell that Council of the Township of Ross give three readings and pass By-Law #26-97 being a by-law to establish a date, time and place to hold an Advance Poll.

Moved by Rathwell, seconded by Gibson that Council of the Township of Ross recommend to the Township of Admaston, subject to the approval of the Renfrew County 911 Project Team, that County Road 41 from Highway 17 to Ross/Horton Town Line be named Haley Road, and from Horton/Ross Town Line to Highway 60 be named Haley-Rosebank Road.

Further that portion of Municipal Road from Haley west to Highway 17, now called Haley Road be renamed Mullen Road.

Moved by Gibson, seconded by Ferguson that the meeting adjourn at 11:20 p.m. and the next meeting will be held on Oct.8th at 7:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers.

Alvin Stone, Reeve alven Stone Eleanor Tabbert, Clerk

Eleaner Tabheit